The day I became my son’s teacher

4 12 2010

One of the wonderful things about being a Teacher-On-Call is that every day a new experience awaits. New faces, new routines, new schedules and of course new schools.

In the month or so that I’ve been in this role, I usually find out my assignment before my boys wake up. Since the call comes almost every day, their first question to me has subtly shifted from, “Did they call you today?” to “Where are you going today, Dad?“.  I’ve made this into a bit of a game by responding the same way each time with a grin:

I’m off to ______ today, but I’m one day closer to coming to your school!

My youngest son, Ben and I on my first day as a teacher at Cheam Elementary

Like many siblings, my boys are quite different in their personalities, with one thinking that having his dad as a teacher would be pretty cool and the other . . . well, not so much.

Earlier this week, (when the sun was still hiding) the much anticipated call arrived and the day finally came when I was told that I was going in for a teacher at Cheam Elementary. Since this would be my first assignment there, I wondered what my boy’s first-time response would be. It was my other son who actually broke the news to his little bro’:

C: “Ben, did you hear where dad is going today?

B: “Where?

C: “To Cheam

I didn’t get to see his face, but the expression in his voice gave it away. “Really? Serious? That’s awesome!” Since mornings are not especially kind to this particular son, his getting ready routine that day was somewhat more pleasant than we’re accustomed to. It was even more rewarding for me to see him handle the questions he got from others at school:

What’s your dad doing here?

Ben’s smile and pride gave it away. “Oh, he’s a teacher now. Cool, huh?

This dad thinks so.

Earlier in the month, I was a teacher in my niece, Jasmine's room. (She was so excited, she could hardly contain herself!)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

